Windows Update Settings


To view the current windows update settings, click on the “Windows Updates” tab, then select “Settings”.

At the top of the page is a “Computer/Group” selector, which lets you select the computer or group whose settings you wish to edit.  Click on the “Change” button to select a computer or group.

Monitoring

By default, windows update monitoring is enabled for the “All Computers” group.  Set the monitoring state by selecting values from the “Update Monitoring” drop down list.

 

Automatic Updates

This section lets you configure the automatic installation of updates. 

Automatic Installation

This dropdown box sets whether or not automatic installation is Enabled/Disabled/Not Set.  If it is Not Set, then the settings for this group have no effect on the final settings for a computer that belongs to this group.

Schedule

You can define the schedule for automatic updates by pressing the “Edit” button.  For more information about setting up a schedule, see Editing a Schedule

Reboot After Install

If you want to allow the computer to be automatically rebooted after installing updates, set this to “If Needed” or “If Needed (and Force App Close)”.  If you never want to reboot after installing updates, set this value to “Never”.  Keep in mind that if you do allow reboots after install, the computer will only be rebooted if an installed update requires it.

Include Updates

Set this filter to the updates you want to automatically install.  For more information on update filters, see Update Filters

Exclude Updates

Set this filter to the updates you don’t want to automatically install.  For more information on update filters, see Update Filters

 

More about Update Filtering

To select which updates to install, you can setup two groups of filters shown above, “Include Updates” and “Exclude Updates”.  When the OptiTune client is directed to automatically install updates using the “Automatic Installation” setting above, and then schedule is met, it will scan for all available updates on the client computer.  From this list of available updates, only the updates which meet the “Include Updates” filter will be chosen.  Next, any updates which meet the “Exclude Updates” filter will be discarded.  Finally, the list of remaining updates will be installed.