Managing Groups


To view the groups currently defined, click on the “Computers and Groups” tab, then select “Groups”.

On this screen, you will find a list of the groups in your organization. 

More about Groups

A group can contain zero or more computers in an organization.  Groups cannot contain other groups, only computers.

In OptiTune, you can manage computers individually, or by group.  For example, if you want to schedule a “Quick Scan” for malware on several computers, you can schedule the scan for an entire group of computers instead of having to schedule the scan separately for each individual computer.

Importantly, each group has a priority number.  If a computer belongs to multiple groups, and the groups have conflicting settings (e.g. group A has “Check for updates” set to TRUE and priority 10, and group B has “Check for updates” set to FALSE and priority 20), the group with the higher priority number will win (e.g. group B would win since its priority number is higher than group A’s priority number), and the settings from the winning group will be applied to the computer (e.g. “Check for updates” would be set to FALSE, group B’s setting).  If two groups have the same priority number, then the group whose sorted name comes first will win, and group names must be unique.

If you have many groups with conflicting settings, you can always check the end result by going to Server Settings > Advanced Settings > Inspect Computer Configuration.  This will show the end result of merging the settings for all groups for an individual computer.  Typically, you won’t need to define conflicting settings for groups.

Adding a Group

To add a group to your organization, click “Add”.

Editing a Group

To edit a group, click on a group’s checkbox, then click “Edit”.

Deleting a Group

To delete a group, click on a group’s checkbox, then click “Delete”.  Note that you cannot delete the built in groups.